2019 Predoctoral Awardees

Bayli DiVita Dean
Biomedical Sciences Program – Immunology & Microbiology

Mentor: Catherine Flores, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: “Elucidating the role of gliomas on hematopoietic cells”

Abdelrahman Elsayed
Clinical Pharmaceutical Sciences Program

Mentor: Jatinder Lamba, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: “Genome Wide and Targeted Approaches to Identify Biomarkers Associated with Clinical Outcomes in Pediatric AML Patients”

Adaixa Padron
Psychology Program – Clinical & Health Psychology

Mentor: Deidre Pereira, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: “Diurnal Variations in Salivary Concentrations of Pro-Tumorigenic Cytokines and Possible Effects of Psycho-Physiological Stress in Oncology Patients and Matched Healthy Controls”


Mai Tanaka
Biomedical Sciences Program – Cancer Biology

Mentor: Dietmar Siemann, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: “Multimodal roles of Axl in Cancer Metastasis”

Kartika Venugopal
Biomedical Sciences Program – Cancer Biology

Mentor: Olga Guryanova, M.D., Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: “Leukemia-associated DNMT3A mutant cells are more sensitive to replication stalling pharmacological agents”

NCI Cancer Center badge